Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Educational Service Unit #13

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 

ESU13 Administration Profile

ESU#13 

QUALITY INDICATORS    PROGRAM Administration

  

Area:  Administration, Support Staff, Custodial and Maintenance

 

 

Staffing: 1 Administrator (FTE – 12 months)

                                    1 Administrative Assistant (FTE – 12 months)

                                    1 Business Manager (FTE – 12 months)

                                    1 Accounts Payable (FTE) - 12 months)

                                    1 Payroll Coordinator (FTE – 12 months)

                                    1 Satellite Office Manager/Secretary (FTE – 12 months)

                                    5 Custodians/Maintenance (each FTE – 12 months)

                                    1 Receptionist (FTE – 12 months)

                                    1 Grants Coordinator/Purchasing  (FTE – 12 months)

Dr. Jeff West 

Administrator

Scottsbluff

mailto:jeffwest@esu13.org

Desira Martin

Executive Administrative Assistant

Scottsbluff

dmartin@esu13.org

Jodi Walker

Business Manager

Scottsbluff

jwalker@esu13.org

Luke Pankonin

Payroll Coordinator

Scottsbluff 

lpankonin@esu13.org

Julia Rundell

Satellite Office Manager/Secretary

Sidney

jrundell@esu13.org

Rhoda Frailey

Grants Coordinator/

Purchasing

Scottsbluff

rfrailey@esu13.org

Elizabeth Rohrer

Office Manager

Scottsbluff

erohrer@esu13.org

Kerri Weinmaster

Accounts Payable

Scottsbluff

kweinmaster@esu13.org

Jerry Becking

Human Resource Coordinator

Scottsbluff

jbecking@esu13.org

Fermin Hernandez

Maintenance/Grounds/Transportation

Coordinator

Scottsbluff

fhernandez@esu13.org

Lucas Spencer

Maintenance/Grounds/Transportation

Scottsbluff

lspencer@esu13.org

Arnulfo Duque

Maintenance/Grounds/Transportation

Scottsbluff

aduque@esu13.org

Luly Torres

Custodian

Scottsbluff

ltorres@esu13.org

Delia Marquez

Custodian

Scottsbluff

dmarquez@esu13.org

 

 

 

Administration Description of Services:

 

Department History:

 

In 1967 ESU #13 hired its first Administrator, Dr. Udell Hughes.  During his tenure ESU #13 served school districts located in Scotts Bluff and Banner Counties.  In 1987, Dr. Creda Thompson was appointed as the Administrator and served in that capacity for eight years.

 

From 1995-2008 Terry Miller served as the Administrator of ESU #13. Changes in programming, services and personnel that occurred over the past ten years include:  (1) established an alternative high school that serves six districts; (2) secured funding for a coordinator and distance learning pod; (3) constructed a 7,400 square foot addition that contains meeting rooms, a distance learning lab, a computer training lab, a reception area that houses instructional materials, a kitchen and serving areas, and restrooms; (4) added programs and program coordinators for deaf and hard-of-hearing services, autism spectrum disorder services, and transition services; and (5) merged with ESUs #12 and #14 increasing the ESU #13 service area to 11 counties spanning over 15,000 square miles and serving 14,500 students in 21 Class III schools districts and their affiliates. In 2008, Dr. Jeff West was appointed as the Administrator of ESU #13.  The year 2008 also saw the completion of the WNCC/ESU #13 Harms Center project.  ESU #13’s portion of the new state of the art facility houses the Valley Alternative School (VALTS), the Transition program, Nebraska Education Virtual Academy (NEVA), and provides additional space for conferences and meetings. In April 2015, ESU #13 was awarded the Head Start Grant and services began June 1, 2015. This added approximately 75 additional staff positions.  In 2016, the new addition to the main building was completed.  The new addition holds the Administration offices, Speech-Language Pathologists, Autism Program Director, Vision specialists, Early Development Network staff, Deaf Education, Distance Learning Director and Migrant Education Program staff. Conference Room A is also located in this building.

Administration: Purpose and Mission

 

The ESU #13 Administration strives to support staff and services by:

  • securing and allocating revenue sources;
  • Utilizing and modeling updated practices and procedures;
  • effective and timely communication; 
  • maintaining a positive culture of community.

Services/Programs Provided:

Governance and Finance Services:

  • The Administration Department provides day to day activities that are related to financial planning, record keeping and accounting, payroll, personnel,  environmental services and maintenance.
  • This department implements programs and services requested by individual school districts and maintains positive lines of communication among school districts, other Educational Service Units and the public.
  • We provide  analysis and evaluation of existing and proposed programs and services.
  • This department insures compliance with Title 92, Nebraska Administrative Code, Rule 84 Regulations for Educational Service Units